In accordance with the changes introduced to the Constitution in 2015, on April 9, 2018 the newly elected President Armen Sarkissian assumed his duties. From that very day, the Republic of Armenia made a transition from a semi-presidential system of governance to a parliamentary system of governance.
Article 123 of the Constitution stipulates:

“1. President of the Republic is the Head of State.
2. President of the Republic is the guarantor of the Constitution.
3. In executing his powers, President of the Republic is unbiased and is guided exclusively by the state and national interests.
4. President of the Republic carries out his activities through the powers vested in him by the Constitution. "

Powers of the President are secured in Chapter 5 of the Constitution as well as in Articles
93, 149, 150, 155, 166, 169, and 206.